Roasted Chickpeas with Other Hippy Dippy Trappings

I’ve had this stack of canned chickpeas in my pantry for a while now. I go through phases of bean buying and at some point I must have had the thought that I would love a ton of chickpeas in my life. Sometimes I will use them straight on salads, but I haven’t done that in a while and these cans have been glaring at me every time I look in the pantry. They must be Catholic because the guilt coming off of them is strong.

Tonight was their night. I was tired after a weekend of gardening and painting, so I needed something easy to prepare and shovel down my yap.

I’ve seen various recipes pop up for roasted chickpeas recently and decided I would try that. Seemed simple enough:  chickpeas, oil, oven time, spices of your choice. It wasn’t baking, so I was confident mixing multiple recipe ideas and creating my own version.

wpid-wp-1443392849261.jpg

To get started, I drained the chickpeas and then rolled them between a clean dishtowel until they were dry. Pulled out the skins that came off in the drying process and then tossed them in a bowl with a combo of coconut and olive oil and salt. Coated them well and then spread out on a cookie sheet.

Into a 400 degree oven they went on the middle rack and I set the timer for 25 mins. Meanwhile, I looked in the fridge to see what I could eat with them. Found some leftover quinoa and broccoli. That would do. I sliced a whole shallot, two big cloves of garlic, and one garden jalapeno and sauteed those before adding the quinoa at the end just to reheat.

wpid-wp-1443392853858.jpg

About 10 mins. in, I turned the chickpeas and added the broccoli, which I had tossed in olive oil and a little pinch of salt, to the baking sheet. While I waited for those to roast, I mixed up about 2 tablespoons of various spices. You can use just about whatever you like from dried spices to fresh cut herbs. I went with cumin, smoked paprika, chili powder, a  little cayenne, and dried basil–since my garden fresh basil is gone now. Sad face.

They ended up taking more like 30 mins. to really wpid-wp-1443392856515.jpg
crisp up and while they were still oily hot from the oven, I poured the spices on top and stirred until evenly coated. They smelled and looked delicious. Tested one and they had a suberb crunch to them. Instant textural addiction.

wpid-wp-1443392858993.jpg

The quinoa went into a bowl with the broccoli next and then the crispy roasted chickpeas of delight on top. I have to say that I’m glad those mofos guilted me into finally using them. Those little nuggets of yum had the perfect pop.

The leftovers will go on my lunch salad tomorrow and will be so much better than just boring beans straight from the can. Now I’m full and dreaming of pie. Why didn’t I make a pie today? Someone bring me pie. Made with butter. A lot of butter.

One thought on “Roasted Chickpeas with Other Hippy Dippy Trappings

Leave a Reply

