A Super Moon and a Custard Pie

Tonight hosts the final Super Moon of 2015. The third in a succession and the sixth of the year, this one is in the sign of Taurus. I’m a Taurus. I’ve read a bit about Super Moons over the year as they have come around. They are called Super Moons because they come closer to the Earth, so they appear larger. Appearance is not the only difference. Super Moons can also cause higher tides, earthquakes, and a general disorder in nature.

What settles me when life is feeling turbulent? Pie. What does a really big, full moon make me think of? Pie. So for this year’s final Super Moon, and being that it is in my sign, I made a pie.

While I was thinking about the moon and pie, they combined in my mind and I decided I would try my hand at making a custard pie. The simplicity of it intrigued me. Of course, I ended up creating my own version.

Starting with tart pan vs. pie plate, most of the recipes I read were for a custard tart. I, however, wanted to use my new pie plate, so I decided to go that way. You might think that would mean I made a pie dough. Nope. I can’t be that predictable. I went with the simple tart dough recipe I’ve used previously. Not sure whether that was the right call because of their differences, but I do know it comes together quickly and reliably.

After getting the dough into the pie plate, prettifying the edge with a design I’m calling cat-slashed, and setting it in the fridge, I had dinner. Which has nothing to do with the pie making, but this pie actually has a pretty simple process, without a lot of down time and I was hungry. I had sausage and sauteed cabbage with onions and garlic, in case you were wondering. It was good stuff.

Back to the moon pie. It was time to blind bake the crust, so I did that with parchment paper and beans to weight down the crust. About 15 mins. at 375 and then I removed the weight and left it in another 10 minutes until very lightly golden brown. Then it was set aside on cooling rack.

Meanwhile, I put together the custard filling. As the heavy whipping cream was slowly coming to a simmer on the stove top, I whisked together the eggs and sugar. I got distracted cleaning out the eggshells to save for my garden and next thing I know, the cream is not gently simmering, but almost boiling. Whoops.

wpid-20151027_193329-1.jpg

Too bad, it was all I had, so I let it calm down a minute before pouring it into the egg/sugar
mixture. Then added the vanilla and nutmeg. The recipes all called for fresh grated nutmeg. Um, I don’t have time for all that during the week, so I used the ground stuff. Poured the custard mixture into the crust, dotted with some softened butter, and sprinkled with some more nutmeg. I, again, did not follow the directions of doing this while it’s already on the oven rack and had to be super careful transferring this liquidy dish to the oven.

wpid-20151027_202704-1.jpgThe times and temps varied among recipes and since I was doing it in a pie plate, I went with a longer time at a lower temp. Ended up taking about 45-50 minutes at 325 before the filling was set and a little bubbly, and the blind baked crust looked perfect. I did not have to protect the edges of the crust during this bake. It smelled delectable coming out of the oven and the bubbling of the custard looked like craters on a yellow moon.

Based solely on appearances, my Super Moon in Taurus custard pie was a success. I’m saving it to bring to work and share, so I will have to wait until tomorrow to see if the flavor is also a win. I’m big on the importance of presentation, which is why I won’t cut into it tonight.

After it cooled, I was pleased to see that unlike fruit-filled pies that settle, this one filled up the crust nicely. I added a few violas from the garden for the color it lacked. Purple is not only my favorite color, but I think it has a sexy quality to it, and this being the moon in Taurus which is ruled by Venus, well…

wpid-20151027_204839.jpg

Happy Super Moon, y’all. Now go out and get that love!

A good love song to listen to while the pie bakes here.

A good read about what tonight’s Super Moon means here.

 

Tart Dough

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup (one stick) unsalted butter, chilled

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 large egg

2-3 tablespoons cold water

Mix the flour and salt in a bowl, cut the butter into cubes and add to flour. Use your fingers to break into the butter until it is crumbly.

Mix the egg with 2 tablespoons of the cold water and whip together. Make a well in the flour and add the beaten egg, mix until the dough holds together. Add the extra tablespoon of water if needed (I needed it).

Roll dough out on floured surface until it’s big enough to fit the tart pan and press in tightly.

Custard Filling

One pint heavy whipping cream

3 large eggs, and

2 large egg yolks

1/4 cup fine sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg, plus extra for sprinkling on top

1 tablespoon softened butter

Bring the cream slowly to a gentle simmer.

Whisk the eggs and sugar together. Not too hard, you don’t want bubbles. Then pour in the hot cream. Add the vanilla and nutmeg and whisk a little more.

Leave a Reply

